Tayo Ogunseye

Super Falcons and FC Barcelona Femeni forward Asisat Oshoala has made history as the first individual, both men and women to covet a CAF individual Award for the fifth time.


The former FC Robo Queens star was voted as the African Women’s Footballer Award at the annual ceremony held in Rabat, Morocco on Thursday night.


She was the only Nigerian who made the top nomination list in the award for this year.


She was selected ahead of Cameroonian Ajara Nchout Njoya and Grace Chanda of Zambia who made made final three nominees for the most prestigious individual Award on the continent.

With this fifth title, Oshoala has surpassed compatriot Perpetua Nkwocha who won the award on four occasions.

She was a key component in spear-heading Barcelona Femeni’s La liga win last season with 20 goals.

Her campaign with the Super Falcons at the 2022 WAFCON was halted by an injury she sustained in Nigeria’s first game against South Africa.

Oshoala has previously won the top individual diadem in women’s football in Africa in 2014, 2016, 2017 and, 2019.

In other categories, Sadio Mane pick the African Player of the Year Award to make it his fourth title.

The former Liverpool of England forward led Senegal to their first AFCON title as well as qualifying for the 2022 World Cup.

List of winners

Player of the Year (Women’s)

Asisat Oshoala

Player of the Year (Men’s)

Sadio Mane

Women’s Club of the Year
Sundown Ladies (South Africa)

Men’s Club of the Year
Wydad AC (Morocco)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)
Evelyn Badu (Ghana)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)
Mohamed El Shennawy(Egypt)


Men’s Young Player of the Year
Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal)

Men’s National Team of the Year

Goal of the Year:
Pape Sakho (Senegal)

Coach of the Year (Women’s)
Desiree Ellis(South Africa)


Coach of the Year (Men’s)
Aliou Cisse (Senegal)








Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here