The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) and Jose Santos Peseiro have come to an agreement to extend his contract, ensuring that he will continue as the Head Coach of the Super Eagles, the federation announced on Sunday.

The initial contract, agreed in May 2022, outlined the task of guiding the Super Eagles to, at the very least, the semi-finals of the 34th Africa Cup of Nations, set to take place in Cote d’Ivoire next January.

Peseiro has successfully navigated the Super Eagles through the qualifiers, securing their spot with a match to spare. This journey included an incredible 10-0 victory against Sao Tome and Principe in Agadir, Morocco in June 2022.

In recognition of the challenging times, Peseiro has agreed to an adjustment in his terms, reflecting a pay cut. Additionally, this new agreement also grants him authority over the Super Eagles B team, the home-based professionals who compete in the biennial African Nations Championship.

In parallel news, the Super Eagles’ boss has issued invitations to several players for the upcoming 2023 AFCON qualification final-day showdown against Sao Tome and Principe in Uyo.

The call-up list includes on-field captain William Ekong, defenders Tyronne Ebuehi and Semi Ajayi, midfield stalwarts Wilfred Ndidi and Frank Onyeka, as well as forwards Moses Simon, Victor Osimhen, and Taiwo Awoniyi, among others.

Peseiro’s squad comprises three goalkeepers (including Enyimba’s Olorunleke Ojo), eight defenders, four midfielders, and eight forwards for the highly anticipated match, scheduled to take place at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium on Sunday, 10 September. There are also first-time call-ups for Belgium-based center-back Jordan Torunarigha and forwards Victor Boniface and Gift Orban.

Additionally, Portugal-based left-back Bruno Onyemaechi and defensive midfielder Raphael Onyedika have earned recalls to the squad.

Although Nigeria is already sitting comfortably with 12 points from their previous five matches, ensuring qualification for the finals, they must secure at least one point to secure the top position in the group, ahead of second-placed Guinea Bissau, who currently hold 10 points and will face Sierra Leone in Bissau.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC); Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England); Tyronne Ebuehi (Empoli FC, Italy); Jordan Torunarigha (KAA Gent, Belgium); William Ekong (PAOK FC, Greece); Semi Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (Cardiff FC, Wales); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium); Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England); Gift Orban (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Boniface (Bayern Leverkusen, Germany)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here