Tayo Ogunseye


Fifteen countries including host Nigeria will today,Thursday commence competition for medals and honours at the fourth edition of the African Track Cycling Championship in Abuja.


Nigeria and 14 other countries are expected to participate in the Championship which is holding inside the Velodrome of the Moshood Abiola National Stadium, Abuja from Thursday to Sunday.

Ahead of the Championship,  Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Mr. Sunday Dare alongside other top Ministry officials and the President of the Cycling Federation of Nigeria (CFN), Giandomenico Massari on Wednesday visited the venue of the event.

He welcomed them to the tournament, charging them to put up their best while also assuring them of a hitch-free competition


A delegation from the Confederation of African Cycling(CAC) led by its president Dr Mohamed Waguih Azzam later paid a courtesy visit on the Sports Minister.



The participating teams are Burundi, Morocco, South Africa, Egypt, Algeria, Cote D’Ivoire, Togo, Ghana, Burkina Faso, Tunisia, Niger Republic, Bene Republic, Guinea and Botswana and host, Nigeria.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here